Various - A Kaleidoscope Of Sounds: Psychedelic & Freakbeat Masterpieces (7x7" Vinyl Boxset)

Various - A Kaleidoscope Of Sounds: Psychedelic & Freakbeat Masterpieces (7x7" Vinyl Boxset)
Price: 73.90€
Format: 7"
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

Set the controls for the heart of the sun, UMC are releasing the motherlode of all Psych vinyl comps: ‘A Kaleidoscope Of Sound (Psychedelic & Freakbeat Masterpieces). Done beautifully of course, with 7 two-sided 7”s housed in a splendid presentation box and limited to only 1,000 numbered copies.

Compiler Phil Smee has unearthed some truly extraordinary and highly sought-after weird & wonderful recordings for this collection. Drawn from some of the great UK labels Decca, Polydor, Philips, Mercury, Deram and Fontana, we’re talking music of a kaleidoscopic quality - scorching guitars, feedback, magic mellotron, staccato drumming and some brilliantly deranged vocals. Delights that include The Fairytale ‘Guess I Was Dreaming’, The Wimple Winch ‘Save My Soul’, Tintern Abbey ‘Beeside’, The Longboatmen ‘Take Her Any Time’, the great Fleur-De-Lys with ‘Mud In Your Eye’ and The Poets ‘In Your Tower’. Two tracks of particular interest are Birds Birds ‘Say Those Magic Words’ and Caleb ‘Your Phrasing Is Dead’. Birds Birds is really mod legends The Birds - featuring one Ronnie Wood – on a 1966 single they cut for Robert Stigwood’s Reaction label. Caleb is Caleb Quaye and ‘Baby Your Phrasing Is Dead’ his only single which, according to folklore, sold in single figures. Quaye had previously been in the band Bluesology with Reg Dwight aka Elton John. Rumour has it that the young Elton is playing keyboards on ‘Baby Your Phrasing Is Bad’ making it a very significant entry in the history of UK psych.

- 7 x 7“ vinyl box of some of the rarest and most valuable Psychedelic & Freakbeat singles from the 1960s.
- First time reissue for nearly all of these singles since their original pressings.
- Housed in replica label bags with original artwork alongside an extensive booklet and rare photos – each box is individually numbered and includes download card.

7" Vinyl Single 1
1 Jason Crest - Black Mass
2 Caleb - Baby Your Phrasing Is Bad

7" Vinyl Single 2
1 The Fairytale - Guess I Was Dreaming
2 The Poets - In Your Tower

7" Vinyl Single 3
1 Tintern Abbey - Beeside
2 The Virgin Sleep - Secret

7" Vinyl Single 4
1 The Wimple Winch - Save My Soul
2 Kaleidoscope - Flight From Ashiya

7" Vinyl Single 5
1 Les Fleur De Lys - Mud In Your Eye
2 The Longboatmen - Take Her Any Time

7" Vinyl Single 6
1 Birds Birds - Say Those Magic Words
2 Sands - Listen To The Sky

7" Vinyl Single 7
1 The Eyes - When The Night Falls
2 The Open Mind - Magic Potion

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2019