Bruce Dickinson – Tyranny Of Souls (LP)

Format LP
Availability In stock
Categories: ,

Cut from the Original Masters and Pressed on Gatefold 180g Vinyl!

BMG/Sanctuary reissues the solo catalog (spanning 1990 to 2005) of Iron Maiden frontman and rock legend, Bruce Dickinson on 180g vinyl for the first time in North America, all cut from the original masters and housed in gatefold packaging. From the stripped down, hard rock of Bruce’s debut Tattooed Millionaire (1990) and it’s heavier successor Balls To Picasso (1994), through the cutting edge alt-rock of Skunkworks (1996) and the heavy metal celebration of Accident Of Birth (1997) to the modern metal with a traditional heart of The Chemical Wedding (1998) and final solo foray, Tyranny Of Souls (2005), these six albums are an essential part of Bruce’s story outside of Maiden and, more importantly, some of the most vital and absorbing metal albums of the last three decades. Revisit them now at maximum volume!

As the 20th century ground to a halt, Bruce was busy reconvening with the Maiden family, and contributing to the most spectacular and undeniable comeback in heavy metal history. As a result, there was a brief pause in the forward grind of his solo work. But even as Maiden returned to the greatest of global heights, Bruce’s idiosyncratic muse was as restless as ever. Seven years on from the glories of The Chemical Wedding, the sixth chapter in the great man’s solo journey appeared.

A more varied and introspective affair than its predecessor, Tyranny Of Souls touched upon balls-out hard rock (“Devil On A Hog”), gallivanting, state-of-the-art melodic metal (“Abduction”) and hazy, prog-fueled psychedelia (the exquisite “Navigate The Seas Of The Sun” – a song inspired by cult author Erich von Däniken’s theory of extra-terrestrial life on Earth in the distant past). The album’s title track drew from Shakespeare’s Macbeth, with all the pitch-black melodrama that such a conceit demands, while “Kill Devil Hill” paid tribute to aviation pioneers the Wright Brothers’ first triumphant flight in 1903.

1.Mars Within (Intro)
3.Soul Intruders
4.Kill Devil Hill
5.Navigate The Seas Of The Sun
6.River Of No Return
7.Power of The Sun
8.Devil On A Hog
10.A Tyranny Of Souls


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.