Fields Of The Nephilim – Elizium: 30th Anniversary (Coloured LP)

Format LP
Availability In stock

Το προϊόν είναι άμεσα διαθέσιμο και έτοιμο για αποστολή ή παραλαβή από το φυσικό κατάστημα κατόπιν παραγγελίας ◆ Τhe product is immediately available and ready to be shipped or picked up from the physical store right after your order.

Fields of the Nephilim was formed in 1984 and is the creation of singer and frontman Carl McCoy. Their legacy is extremely impactful, especially in the world of goth, but also in metal and electronic music, and continues to this day. You can trace their influence to bands like Swans, Godspeed! You Black Emperor, Explosions In The Sky, Wolves in The Throne Room, Behemoth and more. Carl McCoy has even been called the “uncle” of black metal.

Beggars Arkive is pleased to announce a 30th anniversary vinyl reissue of their third highly acclaimed album Elizium, released December 11 and originally released by Beggars Banquet in 1990. Recorded and produced by Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson, the soundtrack was analog transferred to 96 kHz/24-bit by John Dent at Loud and mastered to vinyl by Geoff Pesche at Abbey Road. It is pressed on dark green vinyl.

The band’s unique sound, an apocalyptic fusion of Victorian underworld and Sergio Leone spaghetti western, had an appearance to match (wide-brimmed hats, long duster coats and cowboy boots, usually black and smothered in white flour as a dust substitute) and set them apart from their contemporaries.

“When all else failed me, the Nephilim inspired me and gave me light in the darkness. As a musical instrument, we never sold our soul or changed our tune to gain great recognition. We always stood apart from everything else that was happening around us. The goth scene embraced us, but then so did many other scenes and subcultures. In the early days, audiences didn’t know how to receive us, but that’s why we did what we wanted to do and certainly weren’t interested in doing what other bands were doing. – Carl McCoy

In a recent article about them, Popmatters wrote, “Named after a biblical race of destructive giants born of human women and rebellious angels, Fields of the Nephilim instead offered tightly forged cinematic vignettes overflowing with graveyard atmosphere and crackling with analog warmth. Their sound welded a sense of delicacy and theatricality with an undercurrent of metal menace, topped by frontman Carl McCoy’s jagged baritone.”

Elizium is one of their finest albums and considered by many to be their best. As The Quietus wrote, “it was both their most accessible and their most experimental work, concluding and solidifying the Nephilim’s five-year shamanic journey. The first single and opening song, “For Her Light,” featured a lengthy middle section that anticipated the apocalyptic post-rock of “Godspeed! You Black Emperor” (unsurprisingly, it didn’t chart), and the album featured some of the band’s heaviest rock in the wah abundance of “Submission,” as well as more dance elements – more successful and organic than many of their peers, it must be said – on second single “Sumerland.” Louder Sound also called “Sumerland” their “greatest track ever.”

A1 (Dead But Dreaming) 1:28
A2 For Her Light 3:01
A3 At The Gates Of Silent Memory 8:24
A4 (Paradise Regained) 2:29
A5 Submission 8:28

B6 Sumerland (What Dreams May Come) 11:09
B7 Wail Of Sumer 6:24
B8 And There Will Your Heart Be Also 7:37


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.