Vassilina – Femmeland (Coloured LP)

Format LP
Availability In stock

Το προϊόν είναι άμεσα διαθέσιμο και έτοιμο για αποστολή ή παραλαβή από το φυσικό κατάστημα κατόπιν παραγγελίας ◆ Τhe product is immediately available and ready to be shipped or picked up from the physical store right after your order.
Release Date 26/04/2024

Η VASSIŁINA παρουσιάζει το πολυαναμενόμενο δεύτερο album της, “Femmeland”, μετά το ντεμπούτο της “Fragments” που κυκλοφόρησε το 2021. Πρόκειται για μία ηχητική εξερεύνηση που ξεπερνά τα όρια της ποπ και της ηλεκτρονικής μουσικής, εμβαθύνοντας στην ενδοσκόπηση, την αναζήτησή του πραγματικού εαυτού και την μεταμορφωτική δύναμη της θεραπείας.

Το “Femmeland” αποτελείται από 13 κομμάτια ηλεκτρονικής dark pop, που λειτουργούν ως σταθμοί σε ένα ταξίδι εξέλιξης της VASSIŁINA, αποχαιρετώντας μια προηγούμενη ζωή στο Λονδίνο και αγκαλιάζοντας τον πραγματικό της εαυτό. Το άλμπουμ είναι ένα συναισθηματικό rollercoaster, που εμβαθύνει στην πολυπλοκότητα της ψυχικής υγείας, των χρόνιων ασθενειών, της απώλειας και των τραυμάτων του παρελθόντος, και το πως αρχίζει κάποιος να αγαπά τον εαυτό του μέσα από την αγάπη και την εμπιστοσύνη άλλων.

Στην καρδιά του “Femmeland” βρίσκεται η μυθική φιγούρα της μάγισσας Κίρκης. Στο πρώτο single “Crooked”, που συνοδεύεται και από video clip του Γιώργου Αθανασίου, την βλέπουμε να αποκηρύσσει τον πατέρα της, Ήλιο, επιλέγοντας την θνητότητα, υπερβαίνοντας τα δεσμά των πατριαρχικών κανόνων και του «ιδανικού» εαυτού της. Ενώ το δεύτερο single “2 Kisses” εμβαθύνει στο παρελθόν της Κίρκης, εξερευνώντας το σκοτεινό κενό και τις κοινωνικές πεποιθήσεις που αντιπαρατίθενται στην τρυφερή της φύση. Στην κορύφωση του album η Κίρκη βρίσκεται στο μυθικό της νησί Femmeland, όπου ζει ως θνητή, απόλυτα συμφιλιωμένη με την φύση της. Το ομώνυμο τραγούδι γράφτηκε ως απάντηση στις πολυάριθμες γυναικοκτονίες που έχουν συμβεί στην Ελλάδα τα τελευταία δύο χρόνια. Η VASSIŁINA ήθελε να δημιουργήσει ένα τραγούδι ως φόρο τιμής στις φίλες της και σε όλες τις θηλυκότητες, νιώθοντας ότι όλες/α τους μοιράζονται κοινό τραύμα και φόβο. Στο φανταστικό νησί Femmeland, κατοικούν νύμφες και θηλυκότητες και κάθε άνδρας που αποτελεί απειλή μεταμορφώνεται με μαγικό τρόπο σε ζώο, με αποτέλεσμα μια αρμονική συνύπαρξη πλασμάτων.

Σε αυτό το μουσικό ταξίδι η VASSIŁINA συνεργάστηκε με τον TOTALWERK στην σύνθεση και στην συμπαραγωγή των κομματιών “Thunder”, “Love Me”, “Crooked” και “R U Ready” και με τον Bhukhurah στην σύνθεση του “2 Kisses” και στην συμπαραγωγή των “Vivid” και “Hypochondria”, ενώ είναι σημαντική η συμμετοχή της Saber Rider στα synths. Το art direction στο εικαστικό και οπτικό μέρος, που συνοδεύουν την αισθητική του album, συνυπογράφουν η VASSIŁINA με το Vinyl Face με την πολύτιμη συνεργασία της Εριφύλης Δουκέλη (3D design), του Contino (γραφιστικά) και του Κώστα Σίμου (φωτογραφίες).

▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰ ▰

VASSIŁINA is set to release her highly anticipated album, Femmeland, following her debut LP Fragments released in 2021. VASSIŁINA’s latest offering is a sonic exploration that transcends the boundaries of pop and electronic music, delving into introspection, acceptance, and the transformative power of embracing one’s true self.

Femmeland is a collection of 13 electronic, dark-pop tracks, serving as a chapter in VASSIŁINA’s exploration of self-healing, bidding adieu to a past life in London and embracing her true self. The album is an emotive rollercoaster, delving into the complexities of mental health, chronic illness, loss, and past traumas, while uncovering trust and love through others. It’s a transformative experience, resonating with the acceptance of inner voices and the strength found in embracing one’s true self.

At the heart of Femmeland’s art direction lies the mythical inspiration of Greek legend Circe, a sorceress daughter of Helios, the sun god, and of the ocean nymph Perse. In ‘Crooked,’ the first single and music video directed by Giorgos Athanasiou, we witness Circe’s Fall when she renounces her father “The Sun” by choosing mortality, transcending the shackles of patriarchal norms and her “ideal” self. The emergence of her human side marking the initiation of VASSIŁINA’s personal journey of self-healing. While upcoming second single, ‘2 Kisses,’ delves into Circe’s past, exploring the dark void and societal perceptions, juxtaposed with her gentle nature.

In the culminating chapter, Circe is found at her mythical island, Femmeland, living now as a mortal, in harmonious peace with her nature. The homonymous song ‘Femmeland’ was written in response to numerous femicides that have occurred in Greece over the last couple of years. VASSIŁINA wanted to create a song as a tribute to her friends and all femininities, as she felt they all shared the similar trauma and fear. The aim was to establish a safe space, a metaphorical island, even if only in the realm of imagination within the song. Drawing from the myth of Circe’s island, the song envisions a place where nymphs and femininities dwell. In this mythical land, any man posing a threat is magically transformed into an animal, resulting in a harmonious coexistence of creatures.

Collaborating on this musical journey, VASSIŁINA enlisted TOTALWERK for co-writing and co-producing tracks such as ‘Thunder,’ ‘Love Me,’ ‘Crooked,’ and ‘Are you ready.’ Bhukhurah contributed to the co-writing of ‘2kisses’ and co-producing of ‘Vivid’ and ‘Hypochondria,’ complemented by the amazing synth work of Saber Rider. The result is a sonic landscape that skillfully balances pop aesthetics with dark electronic influences. The visual narrative accompanying the album’s aesthetics was directed by VASSIŁINA and Vinyl Face, with Erifili Doukeli‘s 3D graphic design, Contino‘s graphic design, and Costas Simos‘ photography further enhancing the visual and tactile experience.

01 R U Ready
02 I Think I’m Dying Here
03 Crooked
04 20 Miles
05 Thunder
06 Cold September
07 Vivid
08 Femmeland
09 Pray
10 2 Kisses – 2 Φιλιά
11 Hypochondria
12 Love Me
13 Cheers


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.