Reuben Wilson – Blue Mode (LP)

Format LP
Availability Out of stock

In honor of Blue Note Records’ 80th Anniversary, the legendary jazz label is launching the Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series. Distinct from the Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series, this second series curated by Don Was and Cem Kurosman features 180g vinyl LP releases in standard packaging with albums spanning the many eras of the label’s history presented by themes: Blue Note Debuts, Blue Grooves, Great Reid Miles Covers, Blue Note Live, and Blue Note Drummer Leaders. The series resumes in July 2019 with Part 1 of the Blue Grooves theme – Lonnie Smith Think! (1968), Reuben Wilson Blue Mode (1969) and Bobbi Humphrey Blacks And Blues (1973) – and will continue with three albums released each month for the coming year.

For his third Blue Note album Blue Mode, organist Reuben Wilson kept it right in the pocket and laid down one of the funkiest soul jazz workouts of the late-60s. Produced by Francis Wolff, the date found an at the top of his game Wilson at the helm of an airtight quartet with tenor saxophonist John Manning, guitarist Melvin Sparks, and drummer Tommy Derrick. Highlights of the thrilling set include Wilson’s grooving originals “Bus Ride,” “Orange Peel,” and “Blue Mode,” along with covers of Eddie Floyd’s “Knock On Wood” and Edwin Starr’s “Twenty-Five Miles.”

Reuben Wilson, organ
John Manning, tenor saxophone
Melvin Sparks, guitar
Tommy Derrick, drums

Side A:
1. Bambu
2. Knock On Wood
3. Bus Ride
Side B:
1. Orange Peel
2. Twenty-Five Miles
3. Blue Mode


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.